Don't want the 1 star rating !

21 replies [Last post]
carlos m. icaza
User offline. Last seen 7 years 3 weeks ago. Offline
Alumni
Joined: 22 Jun 2009

In your build settings file add the following line "MinimumOSRequirement" and the minimum you want your app to run on.

For additional info see:

http://developer.apple.com/library/mac/#documentation/DeveloperTools/Reference/XcodeBuildSettingRef/1-Build_Setting_Reference/build_setting_ref.html#//apple_ref/doc/uid/TP40003931-CH3-SW156

Values

2.0: Product runs on iOS 2.0 and later.
2.1: Product runs on iOS 2.1 and later.
2.2: Product runs on iOS 2.2 and later.
2.2.1: Product runs on iOS 2.2.1 and later.
3.0: Product runs on iOS 3.0 and later.
3.1: Product runs on iOS 3.1 and later.
3.1.2: Product runs on iOS 3.1.2 and later.
3.1.3: Product runs on iOS 3.1.3 and later.
3.2: Product runs on iOS 3.2 and later.
4.0: Product runs on iOS 4.0 and later.

Replies

BeyondtheTech
User offline. Last seen 1 year 27 weeks ago. Offline
Joined: 14 Apr 2010

Just to confirm, mine would look like this?

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
settings =
{
        iphone =
        {
                plist =
                {
                        UIPrerenderedIcon = true,
                        UIStatusBarHidden = false,
                        MinimumOSRequirement = "4.0",
                        CFBundleIconFile = "Icon.png",
                        CFBundleIconFiles = {
                                "Icon.png",
                                "Icon@2x.png",
                                "Icon-72.png",
                                "Icon-Small-50.png",
                                "Icon-Small.png",
                                "Icon-Small@2x.png"
                        }
                },
        },
}

Lilarcor
User offline. Last seen 5 years 8 weeks ago. Offline
Joined: 24 Sep 2010

I tried both:

MinimumOSRequirement = "4.0",

and

MinimumOSRequirement = 4.0,

neither of them seemed to work - the binary information in ITC still says requires 3.1.

Is this setting only available in a daily build or something ?

Cheers
Cel.

Lilarcor
User offline. Last seen 5 years 8 weeks ago. Offline
Joined: 24 Sep 2010

Bump, has anyone actually got this working? Am I supposed to see 'Minimum OS Requirements' in iTunes Connect as '4.0' if its working (so far I can't get it to change from 3.1)...

kam187
User offline. Last seen 4 years 42 weeks ago. Offline
Joined: 10 Sep 2010

Except for the linker problem in the latest dailies is there a reason to do this? The builds with the latest sdk are 3.1.3 and up.

Whats the last version of corona that works with 3.1.3 btw (doesnt have the linker issue)?

AdamBucketz
User offline. Last seen 15 weeks 2 days ago. Offline
Joined: 10 Dec 2010

This does work!

Here's the build.settings for Float Free:

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
settings =
{
 
    iphone =
    {
        plist =
        {
            MinimumOSVersion="3.2.0",
            LSRequiresIPhoneOS = YES,
            UIStatusBarHidden=true,
            UIPrerenderedIcon = true,
            CFBundleIconFile = "Icon.png",
            CFBundleIconFiles = {
                "Icon.png" ,
                "Icon@2x.png" ,
                "Icon-72.png" ,
                "Icon-Small-50.png" ,
                "Icon-Small.png" ,
                "Icon-Small@2x.png"
            },
            UIAppFonts = 
            {
                "font_feltTip.ttf",
                "font_flyer.ttf"
            },
        },
    },
    orientation =
    {
        default = "portrait",
        supported =
        {
            "portait", "portraitUpsideDown"
        },
 
    },
    androidPermissions =
    {
            "android.permission.INTERNET"
    },
}

If you check in iTunes you'll see that it indeed lists the requirement as 3.2.0 and looking at the binary details in iTunes connect also lists it. I built with Corona.268 . While I cannot vouch for "4.0" it definitely works for 3.2.0

Lilarcor
User offline. Last seen 5 years 8 weeks ago. Offline
Joined: 24 Sep 2010

So maybe it's MinimumOSVersion, and not MinimumOSRequirement.

Not sure I'm keen to send my app back to the end of the review queue yet again to adjust though...

jhocking
User offline. Last seen 6 years 23 weeks ago. Offline
Joined: 4 Dec 2010

Great tip, thanks! Maybe you should link to this thread from the documentation about build settings:
http://developer.anscamobile.com/content/configuring-projects#Build_Configuration:_build.settings

Not sure I'm keen to send my app back to the end of the review queue yet again to adjust though...

If your app really does require iOS 4 then you should probably fix this. There's a reason Carlos titled this thread as he did.

J. A. Whye
User offline. Last seen 6 weeks 3 days ago. Offline
Joined: 25 Sep 2010

But how do I know whether I need that or not -- outside of testing on all versions of the OS? Is there a list of things in Corona based on OS version?

Would be nice if the Corona Simulator would flag the minimum OS needed when it does a build, that seems like something a program could keep track of better than a people.

Jay

BeyondtheTech
User offline. Last seen 1 year 27 weeks ago. Offline
Joined: 14 Apr 2010

I based it on whether or not the older iOS devices can run it smoothly. I tried Rico: MFH on my kids' iPhone 2G and it was choking all over the place. Since the iPhone 2G stopped at 3.1.3, I set my MinimumOSVersion to 3.2 to accomodate the first iPad and all the devices going forward. We all know that the iPhone 3G sorta got the shaft by being upgradable to 4.1, and most people were complaining about it's sluggishness anyway, so I'd think they'd probably aim to get rid of that device at the first chance they get.

jhocking
User offline. Last seen 6 years 23 weeks ago. Offline
Joined: 4 Dec 2010

Would be nice if the Corona Simulator would flag the minimum OS needed when it does a build, that seems like something a program could keep track of better than a people.

That would be a really handy feature. *hint hint carlos*

In the meantime, the only Corona feature I've seen that requires iOS 3.2 is custom fonts. I only upgraded my phone to iOS 4 recently and before then I'd tested Corona apps with every single feature.

Note though that the latest daily build apparently only works on iOS 4, which makes sense I guess since the latest daily build adds GameCenter support and GC is only on iOS 4:
http://developer.anscamobile.com/forum/2011/03/24/latest-daily-builds-ios-3x

Lilarcor
User offline. Last seen 5 years 8 weeks ago. Offline
Joined: 24 Sep 2010

Well, I used a recent daily build for GameCenter via OpenFeint, so I've re-submitted my game with minimum iOS 4 (which I guess is pretty important so the app doesn't crash on launch :S ).

Back to the end of the queue I go!!

Puzzle Runner
User offline. Last seen 3 years 19 weeks ago. Offline
Joined: 8 Feb 2011

I do not believe your game will crash if you use GameCenter on iOS 3.1 and above. GameCenter will simply be disabled. Someone should correct me though if that's not the case!

Another thing I noticed: I forgot to include the "minimum OS" value in my plist and while Apple was reviewing it, they set it to 3.1 for me. So maybe they are being more careful about that now?

adrianeraldo
User offline. Last seen 4 years 18 weeks ago. Offline
Joined: 10 Dec 2010

Thanks sooooooooooo muuuuuch for the headsup!! I just rejected my binary and uploaded the new version, just lost one day in the cue which is not bad compared to what could have happened otherwise.
cheers all!
adrian

asianstyle7878
User offline. Last seen 7 years 38 weeks ago. Offline
Joined: 23 Jul 2011

What does this do?

BenM
User offline. Last seen 4 years 38 weeks ago. Offline
Joined: 26 Jan 2011

Damn!!!!!

Wish I had seen this earlier.
We have been absolutely hammered with 1 stars from crashes on old iOS devices.

We were rating mostly 4's and 5's without that.

Guys, don't underestimate the importance of this. Avoid the pain.

Ben

jerome82
User offline. Last seen 6 years 39 weeks ago. Offline
Joined: 8 Jul 2011

To be clear, we added the line of code to our build.settings:

1
2
3
  plist=
  {
    MinimumOSVersion="4.3.0",

But within the Binary Details upon upload, the Minimum OS Requirements reflects: 3.1 still...? Is there something else that must be specified within plist? Or within iTunesConnect to ensure the Minimum OS Requirements is consistent with what we specify within the plist (like above)? We'll have to reject this binary and resubmit, as soon as we know what the fix is. Thanks for any immediate response!!! Appreciate it...

BenM
User offline. Last seen 4 years 38 weeks ago. Offline
Joined: 26 Jan 2011

I can only say that I'm pretty sure that is all we did.. See below build.settings iphone section:

iphone =
{
plist=
{
UIHiddenStatusBar= true,
MinimumOSVersion="3.2.0",
UIAppFonts =
{
"rolina.ttf",
},
CFBundleIconFile = "Icon.png",
CFBundleIconFiles = {
"Icon.png" ,
"Icon@2x.png" ,
"Icon-72.png" ,
},
CFBundleDisplayName = "Squishy Halloween",
UIPrerenderedIcon = "YES",
UIApplicationExitsOnSuspend = false,
},
},

And, yes it should not show the version as 3.1 in iTunes binary details.

Ben

jerome82
User offline. Last seen 6 years 39 weeks ago. Offline
Joined: 8 Jul 2011

@Ben: does the "Binary Details" within iTunesConnect then dynamically reflect the settings from plist? Or does that get corrected once our app is reviewed and then Apple updates this information? It seems like this should be correctly reflected dynamically...?

EDIT: Sorry Ben, missed your last sentence... so you're saying that Binary Details SHOULD then accurately reflect what we specified within our plist. Very strange. So why isn't it seeing it I wonder?

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
settings = {
        orientation =
        {
                        default ="landscapeRight",
                        supported =
                        {
                        "landscapeRight", 
                "landscapeLeft"
                        },
                },
 
        iphone =
        {
                plist=
                {
                        MinimumOSVersion="4.3.0",
                        UIStatusBarHidden=true,
                        UIApplicationExitsOnSuspend = false,
                                CFBundleIconFile = "Icon.png",
                                CFBundleIconFiles = {
                        "iTunesArtwork.png",
                                "Icon-72.png",
                        "Icon@2x.png", 
                                "Icon.png",       

BenM
User offline. Last seen 4 years 38 weeks ago. Offline
Joined: 26 Jan 2011

Correct, it is dynamic. I checked it on the one I posted here as it is a new app and is still waiting for review, so it has not been manipulated by Apple.

Does not make sense. Perhaps a rebuild and try uploading again if you have not already.

jerome82
User offline. Last seen 6 years 39 weeks ago. Offline
Joined: 8 Jul 2011

I'd hate to reject the binary and lose position in the queue until I know what the fix is... I'm going to keep searching forums, googling, seeking answers - but thanks for your time Ben!

EDIT: Speaking of queue, anyone have a feel for what the "average" time is for Apple to review submitted apps? I've heard 7 days, I've read over 2 weeks...? I also heard there's something dynamically updated by Apple that tells developers the current average wait? But I can't find that...

BenM
User offline. Last seen 4 years 38 weeks ago. Offline
Joined: 26 Jan 2011

We have been experiencing roughly a 7 day wait recently.
It may be possible for that to have changed due iOS 5 breaking a bunch of stuff?

Viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.