Corona Project Manager v2.1 Features

27 replies [Last post]
J. A. Whye
User offline. Last seen 20 hours 44 min ago. Offline
Joined: 25 Sep 2010

v2.1 of CPM should be out in just a few days, but here's a sneak peek at one of the new features, Snippets.

http://instantvideowebpages.com/play/?m=570

While the video only shows a couple snippets, you can have as many as you want and I'm setting up a way so we can share cool snippets back and forth.

Jay

Replies

cl-apps
User offline. Last seen 7 weeks 1 day ago. Offline
Joined: 3 Feb 2011

Cool, that looks really promising!, I haven't really been using CPM as much as I should really but with the snippets feature and a few stream line improvements in 2.1 I'll be using it much more.

In the list of files for your project are there any plans to use a better font than Times?

Also is there plans to have a 'live' list of files in your project. When I first tried CPM I found it frustrating having to update my assets all the time if I created a new image or dropped something in my folder but not into project manager.

Oh and the file editor at the bottom window is a good move, more like Xcode which i'm used to.

Anyway, I look forward to the new version!

J. A. Whye
User offline. Last seen 20 hours 44 min ago. Offline
Joined: 25 Sep 2010

Man, are you the same guy that sends me emails about the font sucking?

*sigh* I'll try to get a "Use Non-Sucky Font" preference in v2.2 -- just for you. And that other guy.

About the 'live' list -- that's a great idea, only it breaks the original concept of CPM, which is that a project can be virtual. A project can be made up of files from multiple locations on your hard drive, so there doesn't have to be a physical location for a project.

However, there is the Base Folder option when you create a project -- I guess I could allow you to set that as a folder where all contents are considered assets.

CPM doesn't look at the drive right now -- the list of assets are in a database. If you set a folder to be "live" then I can look every time you open the project and if I find a new file, add it to the asset list.

I already color a missing asset red, so I could continue to do that if you move a file from the folder -- and then you'd have to delete that asset. Or, do you think if a file turns up missing from a 'live' folder that I should just auto-delete that asset from the list? (I lean toward making the user delete it to keep things from happening with the user noticing, but I could be wrong.)

Thanks.

Jay

J. A. Whye
User offline. Last seen 20 hours 44 min ago. Offline
Joined: 25 Sep 2010

Actually, if I don't get a font preference into the next version (I think there are more important issues) I could still change the currently used font -- what do you think would be good?

Jay

cl-apps
User offline. Last seen 7 weeks 1 day ago. Offline
Joined: 3 Feb 2011

Nope I'm not that guy... First time I felt compelled to comment on CPM in fact :)

Anyway. A possible elegant solution would be you manage all your assets with the database as normal but make note of the base asset folder and when the contents of that folder changes (based on modified date or something) just pops up a window to say "New files added to project folder, update your project assets?" and this just updates the list.

As for marking missing files red is good, I wouldn't remove these files as they could be important and moved inadvertently when working on 'another' project...

cl-apps
User offline. Last seen 7 weeks 1 day ago. Offline
Joined: 3 Feb 2011

On the font front, good old Helvetica 12pt or Helvetica 11pt would do nicely. Clean, simple, crisp.

J. A. Whye
User offline. Last seen 20 hours 44 min ago. Offline
Joined: 25 Sep 2010

How does this look?

Jay

PixelEnvision
User offline. Last seen 16 weeks 4 hours ago. Offline
Joined: 22 Oct 2010
J. A. Whye
User offline. Last seen 20 hours 44 min ago. Offline
Joined: 25 Sep 2010

Well, you can set Inconsolota as the font for the code editor inside Prefs, so you're good to go there.

But for the interface elements I think a monospaced font would look odd. However, in a future version you'll be able to set the UI font to Inconsolota or even Wingdings if you want. :)

Jay

PS - I just checked my copy of CPM to see what I was using for the code -- I thought I was using Panic Sans, but it turns out I have it set to Inconsolota. :)

cl-apps
User offline. Last seen 7 weeks 1 day ago. Offline
Joined: 3 Feb 2011

J. A. Whye: that new font looks great!!

J. A. Whye
User offline. Last seen 20 hours 44 min ago. Offline
Joined: 25 Sep 2010

Yeah, you're right, it really does look better. :)

And it'll be in v2.1 which should be available in the morning.

Jay

J. A. Whye
User offline. Last seen 20 hours 44 min ago. Offline
Joined: 25 Sep 2010

Corona Project Manager 2.1.0 is now available and includes two major features: tabbed or windowed code editors and Snippets, for reusable code.

Main changes and fixes include...

[Fixes and Changes]

  • Fixed bug in Save As that could scramble source (SO GET THIS UPDATE!).
  • Changed Project and Asset list to use Helvetica to stave off the crazies*.
  • Snippets library. Right-click assets and snippet code is copied to clipboard.
  • Prefs now allows you to turn on/off audio feedback.
  • Code editors are now tabbed or separate windows with Prefs to determine which.
  • Folders can now be drilled down in the asset list -- only one level deep, however.
  • Changed Find Window from Document to Floating Window to fix vanishing Preview pane.

* Crazies in the best sense of the word!

[Known Issues]

  • Autocomplete not working in tabbed editors (still works in windowed editors). Fix in v2.2
  • Tutorial videos not up-to-date. ETA for new videos: Feb 18

Jay

NayGames
User offline. Last seen 1 day 13 hours ago. Offline
Joined: 8 Sep 2010

Mine won't update. I click Help->Check for Updates, but it doesn't do anything.

J. A. Whye
User offline. Last seen 20 hours 44 min ago. Offline
Joined: 25 Sep 2010

Odd -- what version are you currently using? You can see that in the About window.

Jay

cl-apps
User offline. Last seen 7 weeks 1 day ago. Offline
Joined: 3 Feb 2011

All updated perfectly, snippets work a treat, added a few already :)

Would be nice to right click anywhere in the document to bring up the snippets list and insert chunks of code that may not be related to a file name but you just use it often, just a thought for the next version increment.

Other than that your hard work has paid off, you've developed an awesome editor!

...oh... by the way, the new font looks nice too ;)

NayGames
User offline. Last seen 1 day 13 hours ago. Offline
Joined: 8 Sep 2010

My about screen says: Version 2.0.1 (1)
Snippets look really cool btw!

gjperch
User offline. Last seen 2 years 33 weeks ago. Offline
Joined: 22 Jan 2011

Lovin' CPM. And love the Helvetica (heh heh).

FYI. The find window is not automatically putting focus into the Find field. First time I tried it, the focus stayed in my main.lua file, which happened to be my open file. And I couldn't click in the Find field to grab focus. The only way to get focus into the Find field was to click the down arrow.

FrankS
User offline. Last seen 3 years 5 weeks ago. Offline
Joined: 7 Aug 2010

CPM is getting better and better...

However, my font setting of Insolata 18 doesn't seem to work "always" for the tabbed edit windows - seems ok for the separate edit windows - not sure why it sometimes works and sometime not...

-FrankS.

J. A. Whye
User offline. Last seen 20 hours 44 min ago. Offline
Joined: 25 Sep 2010

Not retaining the editor settings is fixed in v2.1.1 which should be out Monday. Several other annoying little bugs are fixed in that version, too.

Jay

J. A. Whye
User offline. Last seen 20 hours 44 min ago. Offline
Joined: 25 Sep 2010

Robert - I think you have a version before Sparkle was working correctly. You can always get the latest version from the links on the right side of this page:

http://coronaprojectmanager.com/blog/

gjperch - In v2.1.1 the Find window is a little better behaved but there's still a bit of weirdness associated with it that I'm tracking down.

Jay

kimber
User offline. Last seen 2 years 42 weeks ago. Offline
Joined: 25 Feb 2011

I just recently purchased Corona Project Manager and I love it... I have one concern or questions and it may just be user error, but I have only had it two or three days and it has crashed on my system 2 times, not sure if it is my system or if I am doing something to give it a hard time.. I absolutely love it though. Any ideas?

J. A. Whye
User offline. Last seen 20 hours 44 min ago. Offline
Joined: 25 Sep 2010

Well, I wouldn't say hat it'll never crash on you, but a couple times in a couple days does seem excessive.

When you say it crashes, does it hard crash, as in, goes away? Or does it bring up the "Oops" exception window?

Jay

kimber
User offline. Last seen 2 years 42 weeks ago. Offline
Joined: 25 Feb 2011

Thanks Jay, It does a hard crash and goes away. I get the Mac OS crash log.

~Kimber

staytoooned
User offline. Last seen 6 weeks 4 days ago. Offline
Joined: 8 Sep 2010

Jay, is the latest version out of beta and if so, how can I download it? Where would I find the link?

Thanks!

P.S. This version is the best! So far, it is working well.

J. A. Whye
User offline. Last seen 20 hours 44 min ago. Offline
Joined: 25 Sep 2010

I think the beta is turning into the release. So far I haven't heard of anything "horrible" happening.

http://coronaprojectmanager.com/blog/

You can always find the latest release on the right side of that site -- the links for the "beta" version are in the first post. I'll probably delete that post and point the main links to the new version late tonight, but at this point you can get either.

Jay

mysecretpage1
User offline. Last seen 2 years 13 weeks ago. Offline
Joined: 13 Jun 2012

I am a spammer and have been blocked by the awesome Peach. Carry on, nothing to see here.

SegaBoy
User offline. Last seen 12 weeks 2 days ago. Offline
Joined: 2 Feb 2011

Can never understand the audacity or mentality of SPAMMERS.

J. A. Whye
User offline. Last seen 20 hours 44 min ago. Offline
Joined: 25 Sep 2010

If I were a billionaire I seriously would put together a secret strike force that would find the people who do that and break a small appendage. Let the word get around and maybe forum spam would slow down.

Jay

PS - If the preceding paragraph looks like I'm advocating violence against spammers, well...

Viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.